Five Texas players named to football watch lists

Posted July 7th, 2014


It’s that time of the year again. College football watch lists are coming out, and the Bednarik and Maxwell kicked things off this morning.

Five Texas players were recognized. Running backs Malcolm Brown and Johnathan Gray are among 76 players on the Maxwell list vying for the title as college football’s top player. Cornerback Quandre Diggs, defensive tackle Malcom Brown and defensive end Cedric Reed are among 76 players up for the Bednarik, which is given to the country’s top defensive player.

Pittsburgh’s Aaron Donald won the Bednarik last year, while Alabama’s A.J. McCarron took home Maxwell honors. No Texas player has won the Bednarik since the award came into existence in 1995. Four Longhorns (Tommy Nobis, Ricky Williams, Vince Young, and Colt McCoy) are Maxwell alumni winners.


Unveiling of watch lists will continue throughout July.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at