Texas safety Dylan Haines and Texas linebacker Peter Jinkens tackle Iowa State running back Mike Warren during the first half of an NCAA college football game, Saturday, Oct. 31, 2015, in Ames, Iowa. (AP Photo/Justin Hayworth)

BEVO BEAT Football

Peter Jinkens, Alex De La Torre named All-Big 12

Posted December 9th, 2015


At 5-7, Texas didn’t have a great season. As a result, the Longhorns were mostly passed over on the All-Big 12 team.

Only two Texas players were honored; linebacker Peter Jinkens and fullback Alex De La Torre were selected to the second team.

Jinkens had a breakout year in his first season as a full-time starter, registering team highs in tackles (75), tackles for loss (9.5) and sacks (6.5). De La Torre was a powerful blocker and helped clear the way for the Big 12’s fourth-ranked rushing attack.


Ten other Longhorns, including six freshmen, were named honorable mention: Davante Davis, Michael Dickson, Holton Hill, Desmond Jackson, Malik Jefferson, Daje Johnson, Hassan Ridgeway, Duke Thomas, Patrick Vahe and Connor Williams.

Also, Charlie Strong received at least one vote for coach of the year. That accolade went to Oklahoma’s Bob Stoops.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.