Longhorns men’s swimming and diving team tops TCU on Senior Day

Posted February 5th, 2016


The top-ranked Texas Longhorns men’s swimming and diving team defeated TCU 156.5-121.5 on Friday at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center for Senior Day.

Sam Lewis and Jonathan Roberts started the meet with a 1-2 finish in the 1,650  yard freestyle. Lewis finished in 14 minutes, 54.53 seconds while Roberts clocked in at 15:01.02.

The 200 medley featured Joseph Schooling, Austin Temple, Ryan Harty and Townley Haas finishing in 1:29.26 for first place. Temple later won the 100 breaststroke in 54.66.


Cory Bowersox won the one-meter diving event with 427.35 points as the Longhorns swept the top three spots in the event. Sean O’Brien finished in second with 414.60 and Mark Anderson scored 351.45 points for third. Bowersox also won the three-meter event with 471.38 points.

Clark Smith won the 200 freestyle, leading the Longhorns in a 1-2-3 finish. He finished in a time of 1:37.20 as Jeff Newkirk took second place in 1:40.44. Ian LeMaistre finished in third with a time of 1:43.28. LeMaistre later added a win in the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:47.49.

John Murray’s 50.01 in the 100 backstroke was good enough for first place as three Longhorns finished behind him.

Harty won the 200 butterfly in 1:47.45 before Jeremy Nichols swam a 20.63 in the 50 freestyle. Harty also took the top spot in the 100 freestyle in a time of 45.42.

Will Licon won the 200 breaststroke in 1:58.10 before Jack Conger won the 500 freestyle in 4:27.06.

Mason Tenney took the 100 butterfly event in 49.34 while John Martens finished the 400 individual medley in a winning time of 3:45.25.

Texas took the 200 freestyle relay as Max Holter, Hayden Henry, Murray and P.J. Dunne teamed up to finish in 1:22.98.


News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at