Texas Longhorns women’s swimming and diving team defeats TCU

Posted February 5th, 2016


The No. 4 Texas Longhorns women’s swimming and diving team never trailed in defeating TCU 167-120 on Senior Day at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center.

Joanna Evans started the meet with a win in the 1,650 yard freestyle in 16 minutes, 20.09 seconds. Texas followed that up with a win in the 200 medley relay as Rebecca Baxley, Madisyn Cox, Sam Sutton and Brynne Wong finished the race in 1:43.70. Wong later finished in first in the 100 butterfly with a time of 54.85.

Meghan Houston won the one-meter diving event with 338.25 points as Meghan O’Brien finished in second with 324.83 points. O’Brien took the top spot in the three-meter event with 337.35 points, just ahead of Houston who had 327.45 points.


The Longhorns finished 1-2-3 in the 200 freestyle as Tasija Karosas finished in 1:49.41 for first place. She also claimed the top spot in the 100 backstroke in 54.09.

Olivia Anderson won the 100 breaststroke in 1:01.56 before Cox won the 200 butterfly in 2:00.99. Cox later won the 200 backstroke in 1:57.93.

Mimi Schneider finished in first place of the 50 freestyle with a time of 22.51. Nora McCullagh won the 100 freestyle in 50.70.

Bethany Leap finished the 200 breaststroke in 2:19.37 for the win before Erin Yeager won the 500 freestyle in 5:03.88.

Evans won the 400 individual medley in 4:20.89 before Texas finished off the meet in winning fashion with a time of 1:34.61 in the 200 freestyle relay. Brooke Hansen, Sutton, Remedy Rule and Nora McCullagh teamed up for the win.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at