Texas sprinter A.J. Bailey, after sitting out 2015 because of NCAA transfer rules, is back on track with his college career. (UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS ATHLETICS PHOTO)


Texas men’s track team wins Texas Invitational

Posted April 16th, 2016


The Texas men’s track team topped a field that featured a number of ranked teams on Saturday at the Texas Invitational at Mike A. Myers Stadium.

No. 4 Texas scored 138 points and won three individual events. Nebraska placed second with 124.5 points followed by Iowa (118) and LSU (94.5). The Tigers won the women’s team title with 136.50 points. Texas finished in fourth place with 84.25 points.

“I think the big thing with this meet across the board was we had some really great teams to have the chance to go head to head with,” Head Coach Mario Sategna said.


UT’s A.J. Bailey won the men’s 200 meters in 20.44 seconds, out-leaning Demetrius Pinder by one-one hundredth of a second. His time was the fourth best collegiate time this season and the fourth fastest in school history.

The Longhorns notched two victories from freshman talents. Texas freshman Steffin McCarter won the men’s long jump and Alex Rogers won the 3,ooo meters steeplechase.

McCarter won the long jump with with a 25 foot leap and teammates Basil Fares (24-3.75) and Ika Morton (24-2.25) placed second and third. Rogers ran the 3,000 in nine minutes 9.98 seconds.

UT’s Sandie Raines posted a dominate victory in the 3,000 meter run. Raines crossed in nine minutes 45.05 seconds, 11 seconds ahead of Mississippi’s Kat MacNeal.





News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.