BEVO BEAT Football

Texas legends Vince Young, Kenneth Sims make the 2019 College Football Hall of Fame ballot

Young, author of arguably the greatest play in UT history, could soon join coach Mack Brown in college football immortality

Posted June 4th, 2018


Vince Young lifted Texas to the Rose Bowl and then the national championship. Now, the swaggering, dynamic Longhorn has a chance to run all the way into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Young’s name was included on the ballot for the Hall of Fame class for 2019 that was unveiled Monday. It’s his first appearance on the ballot, alongside 75 other players and six coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision category.

Ballots will be sent to more than 12,000 members of the National Football Foundation and  current Hall of Famers. The announcement of the newest class will be made on Jan. 7, 2019, in Santa Clara, Calif.

Magazine cover, for Sports. “Superman” Vince Young on the front of the January 8, 2006 Sports Illustrated. Image provided by Sports Illustrated. Pic received on 1/6/05.

Young’s coach at Texas, Mack Brown, was voted into the College Football Hall of Fame in the 2018 class. Brown will be honored during a ceremony this December. It makes sense that his greatest player, who compiled a 30-2 record as a starter from 2003-05, could eventually get there some day, too.

In addition to beating USC to win the 2005 national title, Young threw for 6,040 yards and had 10 100-yard rushing games. With Young at the controls, the Longhorns won the Big 12 title en route to winning what it considered by many the best national title game in college football history.

NFF president Steve Hatchell said it was “an enormous honor to just be on the ballot,” considering that only 997 players have ever been inducted. According to the NFF, approximately 5.26 million have played college football.

Young isn’t the only Longhorn on the ballot, either. Former defensive tackle Kenneth Sims, a consensus two-time All-American, played at Texas from 1978-81. Sims still ranks tied for fourth in UT history with 29 career sacks. He won the Lombardi Award and was the first overall pick in the 1982 NFL draft.

There are other names old Southwest Conference fans will remember. Texas Tech running back Byron Hanspard made the list. Big Eight aficionados will be delighted to learn that Oklahoma’s Rickey Dixon and Oklahoma State’s Leslie O’Neal both made the ballot, too.

Overall, Texas currently has 21 representatives in the Hall of Fame — Brown will be No. 22. That list includes 19 players along with coaches D.X. Bible and Darrell Royal. “It’s very difficult to put into words what it means to me and my family,” Brown said when it was announced he would be enshrined.

Young authored 30 of Brown’s 158 victories at UT. In 2005, Brown was also named the Paul “Bear” Bryant national coach of the year. The coach and Young were joined at the hip — and connected by iPod — during their famous 2005 national title run.

Contact Brian Davis at 512-445-3957. Email

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at