BEVO BEAT Football

Two Texas defensive backs honored as Jim Thorpe Award names 14 semifinalists

Posted October 22nd, 2018


Two of the nation’s best defensive backs are enrolled at DBU.

Texas’ Kris Boyd and Caden Sterns have been named semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top defensive back. Fourteen semifinalists were revealed by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame on Monday. Texas, LSU and Miami were the only schools that had two names on the list.

The finalists for Jim Thorpe Award will be announced on Nov. 19.


Ex-Longhorns Michael Huff (2005) and Aaron Ross (2006) are prior winners of a Jim Thorpe Award that was first presented in 1986. Former Texas safety DeShon Elliott was one of the three finalists for last season’s award.

DeShon Elliott on Texas freshman Caden Sterns: β€œHe is better than me.”

A senior cornerback, Boyd has recorded nine pass break-ups this season. Sterns’ four interceptions have tied a freshman-class record at UT. Elliott recently said that his replacement was “better than me.”

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at