Earl Campbell, Matthew McConaughey being honored by Texas Exes

Posted July 14th, 2014


Heisman Trophy winner Earl Campbell and Oscar winner Matthew McConaughey are among six former Longhorns being honored by the Texas Exes at the 2014 Distinguished Alumni Awards on Oct. 17.

Campbell is one of the most famous players in Texas football history who won the 1977 Heisman Trophy and became a No. 1 draft pick by the Houston Oilers. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1991.

Campbell, who completed his bachelor degree in 1979, still ranks third in all-time rushing yardage in UT history with 4,443.


McConaughey, a 1993 graduate, just reached the pinnacle of his acting career this spring, winning both an Oscar and Golden Globe for his portrayal of AIDS activist Ron Woodruff in Dallas Buyers Club.

Jody Conradt is being honored with the Distinguished Service Award, highlighting her 38-year coaching career that included winning the 1986 national championship with the Longhorns. Conradt was 783-245 in 31 seasons in Austin.

The Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor presented by the Texas Exes to someone who did not attend UT.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at