Osterman, other Texas exes in NPFplayoffs

Posted August 20th, 2014


Six former Longhorns softball standouts hope to lead their team to the National Pro Fastpitch championship this weekend in Hoover, Ala.

The first-round best-of-three series began Wednesday with Nadia Taylor (Texas, 2012) and the Akron Racers taking on the Chicago Bandits in one series and Mandy Ogle (’14) and the Pennsylvania Rebellion taking on the USSSA Pride in the other. The USSSA Pride features four former Longhorns in Cat Osterman (’06), Megan Willis (’07), Blaire Luna (’13) and Brejae Washington (’14).

The entire NPF postseason will be televised on CBS Sports Network.


At Tuesday’s awards banquet on Wednesday, Osterman was named Pitcher of the Year as she led the league with 160 strikeouts over a league-leading 0.560 ERA. She finished the regular season undefeated at 16-0 and threw a no-hitter on July 5.

Osterman wasn’t the only former Longhorn to take home hardware. Washington was awarded the Diamond Spike Award for having the most stolen bases in the league. She nabbed 17 successful stolen bases on 21 attempts.

Osterman was also named to the All-NPF Team; her USSSA Pride was the regular season champions with a record of 33-15 record.

The USSSA Pride are the defending NPF Champions.

Semifinal series continue through Friday morning with Game 1 of the championship series scheduled for 7 p.m. Friday. Game 2 of the championship series is scheduled for Saturday at 1 p.m. and if necessary, Game 3 is scheduled for 3:30 p.m.

Here’s the complete schedule for the NPF playoffs.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at