BEVO BEAT Football

Young, Akers and Huff headline this year’s Hall of Honor class

Posted September 24th, 2015



This year’s class, which will be inducted Friday:

Men’s inductees


Fred Akers, football: The man who replaced Darrell Royal, Akers is No. 3 on Texas’ all-time victories list (86-13-2) and led the Longhorns to within one game of the national championship in 1977 and 1983.

Blake Brockermeyer, football: A two-time All-SWC left tackle, Brockermeyer started all 34 games of his career. A first-round pick of the 1995 NFL draft, he spent nine years with the Panthers, Bears and Broncos.

Brendan Hansen, swimming: A three-time Olympic gold medalist, Hansen helped Texas to two NCAA championships. One of five UT swimmers who have competed in three Olympics, Hansen was one of American’s top breaststroke swimmers in the early 2000s.

Larry Hardy, baseball: One of the most important parts of UT’s pitching staffs in the late 1960s, Hardy started, relieved and closed in his college career. In three College World Series, he was 2-1 with a 1.03 ERA.

Michael Huff, football/track: The 2005 Thorpe Award winner, Huff was a major part of the Longhorns’ national championship team and a two-time All-American. He started 50 of his 51 games in college and was a first-round pick of the 2006 draft.

David Kristynik, football: Played guard, center and defensive tackle from 1959-61.

Randy Peschel, football/baseball: Forever remembered for his over-the-shoulder catch that set up Texas’ game-winning touchdown over Arkansas in 1969. He starred in baseball, too, hitting .333 in 1968 and .304 in 1969.

Vince Young, football: The 2005 Maxwell Award winner, Young led Texas to the national championship, went 30-2 as a starter and won the last 20 games of his career. He left as UT’s all-time leader in wins, total offense and touchdowns.

Women’s inductees

Juliet Cuthbert-Flynn, track: A three-time Olympic medalist, three-time NCAA champion and 11-time SWC champion, she’s considered one of Texas’ greatest sprinters ever and helped the Longhorns establish dominance in the mid-1980s.

Destiny Hooker, volleyball/track: One of only seven Longhorns who were All-Big 12 all four years in volleyball, she also won four NCAA high jump titles.

Debbie (Risen) Hurwtiz, swimming: A seven-time NCAA champion and 19-time All-American from 1984-88, she won two NCAA relay titles.

Charlotta Sorenstam, golf: Sorenstam won NCAA medalist honors in 1993, and led Texas to five tournament wins and six more top-five finishes in her one season.

Tori (Trees) Smith, swimming: A six-time NCAA champion and 14-time All-American, she also swam in the 1984 Olympics. She’s the mother of current Longhorns swimmer Clark Smith, who won an NCAA title in the 500 freestyle in March.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at