UT's Clark Smith. (UT Athletics)

BEVO BEAT Swimming & Diving

Texas swimming teams defeat Florida, Indiana

Posted October 16th, 2015


The Texas men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams opened the 2015-2016 season with victories over Florida and Indiana Friday evening at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center.

Texas’ Will Lincon and Clark Smith won two events apiece and UT’s Madisyn Cox had two of the lady Longhorns’ five individual victories.

The Texas men defeated Indiana 201-98 and Florida 179-121. The Texas women’s team beat the Hoosiers 168-130 and defeated Florida 171-129. The meet was contested in a 50-meter long-course pool more commonly used in international and U.S. national meets.


Lincon took the 100 yard breaststroke in 1 minute 3.41 seconds and won the 200 yard butterfly in 2 minutes 1.01 seconds. Smith bested Florida’s Arthur Frayle in the 800 yard freestyle and won the 400 yard freestyle in 3 minutes 55.11 seconds.

Cox won the 200 yard freestyle in 2 minutes 1.58 seconds and the 200 yard individual medley in 2 minutes 16.42 seconds.


News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.