Texas first baseman Randel Leahy chases a foul ball during the Longhorns' fall game with Temple College on Thursday, Oct. 9, 2015 at McCombs Field. MICHAEL ADAMS/ ACN

BEVO BEAT Softball

Big 12 announces return of annual softball championship

Posted October 22nd, 2015


The Big 12 announced Thursday that the league will reinstate the annual Big 12 Softball Championship beginning with the 2017 season.

The Big 12 Championship will be held at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, Okla. – the site of the NCAA Women’s College World Series – on May 12-13, 2017 and will include pool play for the top six teams in the league standings.

The conference has awarded its championship to the team with the overall best conference record since 2011.


With four wins, Texas is tied with Oklahoma for the most Big 12 Softball Championship victories all-time. Oklahoma won the first conference championship in 1996. Texas won championships in 1999, 2002, 2003 and 2005.

Only seven of the conference’s 10 members sponsor softball – Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas and Texas Tech. The Big 12 has totaled 15 Women’s College World Series appearances, including five by the Longhorns. Texas last made the WCWS in 2013.



News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.