Award Watch: Texas’ DeShon Elliott (Jim Thorpe) and Michael Dickson (Ray Guy) earn finalist status

Posted November 20th, 2017


Texas safety DeShon Elliott and Longhorn punter Michael Dickson are Atlanta-bound.

Elliott was named a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award on Monday. Michael Huff (2005) and Aaron Ross (2006) are the only Longhorns to ever win the Thorpe Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top defensive back. Quentin Jammer (2001) and Earl Thomas (2009) were previously named finalists.

Elliott joins Alabama safety Minkah Fitzpatrick and Iowa cornerback Josh Jackson as the finalists for the 2017 Jim Thorpe Award. The winner will be announced at the Atlanta-hosted College Football Awards Show on Dec. 7.

Elliott’s six interceptions rank second nationally, and he has scored defensive touchdowns against USC and Baylor. Elliott has recorded 57 tackles, five pass break-ups and three forced fumbles. In the fourth quarter of last week’s 28-14 win over West Virginia, Elliott broke up a key fourth-down pass into the end zone.

Jackson leads the country with his seven interceptions, and he has a nation-high 24 passes defended. Fitzpatrick has broken up six passes for Alabama, which boasts the third-best passing defense on the FBS level (156.7 yards per game).

Michael Dickson-Texas Longhorns-Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Week
Texas punter Michael Dickson against Notre Dame at Royal-Memorial Stadium on Sept. 4, 2016. JAY JANNER / AMERICAN-STATESMAN

Elliott will be joined in Atlanta by Dickson, who has been named a finalist for the Ray Guy Award. Dickson was a finalist for the punting award last year.

Dickson currently leads the nation with his average of 48.0 yards per punt. Twenty-five of Dickson’s 64 punts have landed inside an opponent’s 20. He unleashed a 76-yard bomb against TCU on Nov. 4.

Utah’s Mitch Wishnowsky (45.0 YPP) and Alabama’s JK Scott (43.1 YPP) were also named finalists for the Ray Guy Award. Wishnowsky won the award in 2016.

The post Award Watch: Texas’ DeShon Elliott (Jim Thorpe) and Michael Dickson (Ray Guy) earn finalist status appeared first on Hook ‘Em.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at