BEVO BEAT Swimming & Diving

Texas Longhorns men’s swimming and diving team defeats Arizona 167-128

Posted January 29th, 2016


The No. 1 Texas Longhorns men’s swimming and diving team won 12 of 16 events on the way to defeating the Arizona Wildcats 167-128 in Tucson, Ariz. on Friday.

The Longhorns started the day with a 200-yard medley relay victory in 1 minute, 28.49 seconds. John Shebat, Will Licon, Will Glass and Brett Ringgold teamed up for the win. Ringgold also won the 100 backstroke in 48.94 and the 100 freestyle in 44.76 later in the meet.

Townley Haas took the 1,000-yard freestyle in 9:18.8, over five seconds better than Arizona’s Ty Fowler.


Ryan Harty added to the Longhorns’ streak when he won the 200 freestyle in 1:38.28. Harty also finished in the top spot of the 200 butterfly in a time of 1:47.94.

Austin Temple finished the 100 breaststroke in 56.51 for the Longhorns’ fifth win in a row.

The Wildcats stopped the bleeding by sweeping the 50 freestyle, led by Renny Richmond.

In the diving competition, Mark Anderson and Sean O’Brien took the top two spots of the 1-meter event for the Longhorns. Anderson scored 383.18 points while O’Brien finished with 376.20. O’Brien later took first place in the 3-meter event with 374.85 points.

Licon was edged out of first place by Thane Maudslien in the 200 backstroke. Maudslien finished in 1:48.54 while Licon clocked in at 1:49.73.

Hayden Henry secured another first place win for the Longhorns in the 200 breaststroke with a time of 2:04.73.

The Longhorns’ Jonathan Roberts finished the 500 freestyle in 4:33.04 to edge out Nick Hogsed.

Glass returned to the pool to take first place in the 100 butterfly in 48.72 for the Longhorns’ final win of the night.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at