Texas guard Brooke McCarty (11) comes away with a steal as Baylor's Alexis Prince (12) and Khadijiah Cave (55) give chase in the first half of an NCAA college basketball game, Monday, Feb. 29, 2016, in Waco, Texas. (AP Photo/Tony Gutierrez)

Women's Basketball

Boyette, McCarty named to All-Big 12 team

Atkins named to conference second team

Posted March 2nd, 2016


Longhorns Imani Boyette and Brooke McCarty were named to the All-Big 12 women’s basketball team, the league announced Wednesday.

Boyette, a 6-foot-7-inch senior who averaged 12 points and 9.1 rebounds during the regular season, also was named co-defensive player of the year in the league. She was joined on the first team by McCarty, a sophomore guard who has averaged 12 points and 2.6 assists per game this season.

Texas sophomore guard/forward Ariel Atkins (10 PPG, 3.6 RPG) was a second-team choice. Guards Empress Davenport and Celina Rodrigo received honorable-mention recognition.


Baylor, the league’s regular-season champion, had three players — guard Nija Johnson and forwards Alexis Jones and Nina Davis — voted to the first team. They were joined on the first team by Oklahoma State guard Brittney Martin, TCU guard Zahna Medley, West Virginia guard Bria Holmes, Kansas State center Breanna Lewis and Iowa State guard Seanna Johnson.

Martin (20.4 PPG, 11.2 RPG) became the first Oklahoma State player to receive player of the year honors. She also joined Boyette as co-defensive player of the year.

Jim Littell became the first Oklahoma State women’s coach to receive the coach of the year honor.