Former Texas coach Mack Brown voted into College Football Hall of Fame

Posted January 8th, 2018


ATLANTA — Former Longhorn head coach Mack Brown was elected into the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame class, which will be announced Monday morning on the day of the College Football Playoff national championship at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, according to a source. The news was confirmed by the University of Texas Monday morning.

Brown, 66, who works as a college football analyst for ESPN, will become the third Longhorn football coach to join that illustrious group, following D.X. Bible (1937-1946) and Darrell Royal (1957-76). Brown was the second-winningest coach at Texas, finishing with a 158-48 record that trailed only Royal’s 167 victories.

The official induction will be in New York at the annual National Football Foundation dinner on Dec. 4.

Brown guided the Longhorns to arguably the most dramatic bowl win in history with the Vince Young-led, 41-38 victory over USC in the Rose Bowl, led Texas to the 2005 national championship. That was the last of the school’s four titles and the first in 35 years since Royal won a split title in the 1970 season.

In his 16 seasons, Brown finished at least first or second in the Big 12 or the Big 12 South Division 13 times, usually behind Oklahoma. Brown, who was let go by Texas after the 2013 season, won two Big 12 championships and had an overall coaching record of 244-122.

Since his firing, Texas has had just one winning season, Tom Herman’s most recent 7-6 year, and has gone 23-27.

Brown had an excellent chance of earning a second title, again in the Rose Bowl, but Texas quarterback Colt McCoy was injured on the team’s fifth offensive play of the game and did not return. Alabama hung on to win.

“It’s your whole team getting deflated,” Brown said of that painful situation on ESPN Monday morning. “I didn’t do a good job of getting the team ready with backup Garrett Gilbert.”

Tackle Bob McKay was inducted into the 2017 class as one of the key members of the 1969 unbeaten national championship team, the 19th Longhorn player to be honored by the CFHOF.