Men's Basketball

LeBron James’ NBA Finals streak is impressive, so is the Longhorns’

Posted May 30th, 2018


LeBron James reached the NBA Finals for the eighth straight season over the weekend after the Cleveland Cavaliers defeated the Boston Celtics to win the Eastern Conference.

It’s an amazing streak that may not be matched by another player (unless, you know, one of the members of the Golden State Warriors reach four more finals).

But the same season James’ streak started, another one began.


Although Dexter Pittman wasn’t an active participant in the 2011 NBA Finals, he was on the Miami Heat, and since then a Longhorn has played in every NBA Finals.

2011: Pittman

2012: Kevin Durant, Pittman, Royal Ivey

2013: Cory Joseph

2014: Damion James, Joseph

2015: Tristan Thompson

2016: Thompson

2017: Durant, Thompson

2018: Durant, Thompson

That streak is longer than Duke, who is at 7.

Of all the players, Durant is the only one to win NBA Finals MVP, while he, Thompson, Pittman, James and Joseph all won championships.