Texas women's swimmer Madisyn Cox. RALPH BARRERA/AMERICAN-STATESMAN

BEVO BEAT Swimming & Diving

Longhorns swimming teams dominate TCU in Fort Worth

Posted February 3rd, 2017


The Texas Longhorns swimming and diving teams dominated TCU as the No. 2 women swept the events to win 122-91 while the No. 3 men took a 122-100 victory in Fort Worth Friday night.

The women opened the meet with a 200-yard medley relay victory as Claire Adams, Olivia Anderson, Brynne Wong and Anelise Diener finished the race in 1 minute, 43.02 seconds.

Sammie Hashbarger won the 200 freestyle in 1:54.31 before Joanna Evans took a win in the 200 individual medley in 2:02.02.


Jordan Wheeler topped the field in the 50 freestyle, finishing in 23.83.

Madisyn Cox claimed yet another victory as she finished the 100 butterfly in 54.23. Cox also took the top spot in the 100 backstroke with a time of 54.88.

Lauren Case touched the wall first in the 100 freestyle with a time of 51.98.

Tasija Karosas took the 500 freestyle event in 4:57.90 before Norah McCullah won the 100 breaststroke in 1:06.03.

Meghan O’Brien won the one-meter diving event with 306.82 points before scoring 375.75 points in her three-meter victory.

The women closed out competition with a win in the 200 freestyle relay. Remedy Rule, Diener, Evans and McCullagh teamed up for the win.

The No. 3 men’s team opened up competition with a win in the 200 medley relay. Josh Artmann, Will Licon, Brett Ringgold and P.J. Dunn claimed the win in 1:31.21.

Dunn also took a victory in the 50 freestyle with a time of 20.74 while Ringgold won the 100 butterfly in 48.75.

Sam Kline took the 200 freestyle event in 1:39.91 and Jeremy Nichols followed with a win in the 100 freestyle in 46.29.

Licon won the 500 freestyle in 4:33.34 before Preston Varozza took his first collegiate win in the 100 backstroke with a time of 51.60.

Hayden Henry swam a 57.22 in the 100 breaststroke for first place.

Sean O’Brien scored 388.80 points to win the one-meter diving event before Texas closed the night with a 200 freestyle relay victory. Nichols, Dunne, Ringgold and Jacob Huerta took the win in 1:21.99.

Texas next hosts the Big 12 Championship meet beginning on Feb. 22.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.