University of Texas swimmer Madisyn Cox competes in the woman 200-meter breaststroke prelim during the Arena Pro Swim Series at the Jamail Texas Swim Center, Thursday, Jan. 14, 2016, in Austin, Texas. (Stephen Spillman /for American Statesman)

BEVO BEAT Swimming & Diving

Longhorns sweep events for Big 12 Championships

Posted February 25th, 2017


The Texas men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams swept the competition to win Big 12 Championships Saturday at the Jamail Texas Swimming Center. The Texas men won their 38th straight conference title and 21st Big 12 Championship. The women won their fifth league title in a row and 15th Big 12 title overall.

The women won all 21 events in the meet to earn 991 points, finishing ahead of second place Kansas which had 683.5 points. The men scored 1,081 points, finishing with a cushion of more than 200 points ahead of West Virginia.

Madisyn Cox was named the women’s outstanding swimmer of the meet for the second year in a row while Meghan O’Brien took the honor as the diver of the meet. Lauren Case was selected as the newcomer of the meet.


Will Licon was named the outstanding men’s swimmer of the meet. Mark Anderson earned honors as the men’s diver of the meet.

Eddie Reese and Carol Capitani were named the men’s and women’s swimming coaches of the meet. Matt Scoggin was honored as diving coach of the meet for both the men and the women.

Shebat won the 200 backstroke in 1:39.74, the third best time in the nation this season. Tasija Karosas won the women’s 200 backstroke with a time of 1:51.11 for her second title in a row in the event.

Brett Ringgold won the 100 freestyle in 42.39 for his third straight title in the event. Rebecca Millard claimed her third straight title in the women’s 100 freestyle with a time of 47.90.

Clark Smith won the 1,650 freestyle in 14:33.28. It was the second best time in the nation this season. Smith has the No. 1 time this season which he set at the Texas Invitational. Joanna Evans earned the women’s title for the second year in a row. Her time of 16:05.11 was more than eight seconds better than her time last year.

Cox took her third Big 12 championship this season with a time of 2:07.23 in the 200 breaststroke. She defended her title in the event. Licon won the 200 breaststroke for the fourth straight year, finishing in a time of 1:49.89. It’s the best time in the country this season.

Jack Conger won the 200 butterfly for the second year in a row. His time of 1:39.17 is the fastest time in the nation this season. Case won her second Big 12 title with a win in the 200 butterfly. Her time of 1:53.85 is the seventh best in the nation this season.

Jacob Cornish finished first in the men’s platform diving final with 391.00 points. Sofia Rauzi scored 252.45 points to take the women’s title.

Joseph Schooling, Conger, Ringgold and Townley Haas won the 400 freestyle relay with a time of 2:48.66, the second best time this season. The women also took the title in a time of 3:13.36. Millard, Claire Adams, Karosas and Cox teamed up for the win.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at