Grayson Campbell of Longhorn Aquatics competes during the Senior Men's 3m Springboard Semifinal during the 2017 USA Diving Summer National Championships on August 9, 2017 in Columbus, Ohio. (Photo by Kirk Irwin/Getty Images)

BEVO BEAT Swimming & Diving

Texas swimming and diving teams dominate TCU

Posted February 2nd, 2018


The Texas swimming and diving teams dominated the competition as they hosted TCU at the Jamail Swimming Center on Friday.

The women, ranked fifth, completed their first undefeated dual-meet season in 30 years with a 162-105 victory. The No. 8 men won all 15 events on the way to a 159-108 win.

Claire Adams, Olivia Anderson, Remedy Rule and Rebecca Millard opened competition with a win in the 200 medley relay. The squad finished the race in 1 minute, 38.37 seconds.


Kaitlin Harty had two individual wins on the day. She took the 100 backstroke in 55.00 before winning the 200 in 1:57.13.

Kennedy Lohman won the 100 breaststroke in 1:03.41 before claiming the 50 freestyle in 23.91.

Joanna Evans won the 200 freestyle in 1:46.44.

Victoria Edwards finished first in the 200 butterfly with a time of 2:02.52.

Millard picked up a solo win in the 100 freestyle in 48.82.

Brooke Hansen finished the 200 breastroke in 2:16.01 to take first place.

Logan Shiller took another win for UT with a time of 4:48.91 in the 500 freestyle.

Adams also took the 100 butterfly in 52.87 before Quinn Carrozza won the 200 individual medley in 2:02.31.

Sofia Rauzi won the 3-meter diving event with 352.20 points. Meghan O’Brien made it a sweep with a win in the 1-meter event. She finished with 308.40 points.

The women finished with a 200 freestyle relay win in 1:31.21.

The men opened the meet with a win in the 200-yard medley relay in 1:28.81. Austin Katz, Casey Melzer, Tate Jackson and Brett Ringgold teamed up for the victory.

Texas next took the top four spots in the 200 freestyle, with JohnThomas Larson winning in 1:37.57.

Melzer recorded an individual win in the 100 breaststroke in a time of 54.30.

Max Holter led the entire way in the 200 butterfly event, winning in 1:45.21. In the 100 butterfly, Jacob Huerta claimed the win in 47.83.

Ringgold took an individual win in the 50 freestyle with a time of 20.21. In the 100 freestyle, Townley Haas made it a sweep of the sprint events with a time of 44.92.

Ryan Harty won the 200 backstroke in 1:41.56 after taking second in the 100 breaststroke.

Katz added to his team win with an individual victory in the 500 freestyle. Though usually a backstroke swimmer, he finished in 4:21.94.

Parker Neri won the 200 individual medley in 1:51.56.

Jonathan Roberts won the 200 breaststroke in 1:59.65.

In diving, Grayson Campbell won the 1-meter event with 409.80 points to lead a 1-2-3 finish. Jordan Windle took second in the event. Windle also claimed the 3-meter event with 486.15 points.

The Longhorns finished the meet with a win in the 200 freestyle relay in 1:22.54.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at