Jordan Windle of the Ft. Lauderdale Diving Team competes during the Senior Men's platform diving final during the 2017 USA Diving Summer National Championships on August 12, 2017 in Columbus, Ohio. Windle finished first in the competition. (Photo by Kirk Irwin/Getty Images)

BEVO BEAT Swimming & Diving

Texas men win 39th straight title, women sweep Big 12 Championships

Posted February 25th, 2018


The Texas men won their 39th straight swimming and diving conference title, highlighted by a record-setting performance from freshman diver Jordan Windle at the Big 12 Championships on Saturday at the Jamail Texas Swimming Center.

The women’s team swept all 21 events at the competition to claim its sixth straight Big 12 title. They scored 1,021 points, beating West Virginia by nearly 400 points.

Windle broke the NCAA record in the men’s platform diving event by scoring 579.60 points to take the win. His mark shatters the previous record of 560 points held by Nick McCrory of Duke.


The freshman scored multiple perfect scores on four of his six dives in the final. Windle’s third dive earned perfect scores from six of the seven judges for 111 points.

“I’m still wowed by it,” Windle said. “A lot happened in this competition so I’m still trying to take it all in, but I’m really ecstatic about coming out on top and setting an NCAA record. Being able to dive my best was just incredible.”

The Longhorns scored 1,052 points, beating West Virginia by over 100 points for the men’s title.

Murphy Bromberg won the women’s platform diving event with 323.95 points.

Austin Katz broke the meet record in the 200-yard backstroke by finishing the race in 1 minute, 39.10 seconds. Quinn Carrozza won the women’s event in 1:53.18.

Tate Jackson won the 100 freestyle in 41.27 to set new school and Big 12 records in the event. Claire Adams set a meet record in the women’s event, finishing the race in 47.46.

Evie Pfeifer finished first in the women’s 1,650 freestyle for her third Big 12 title. She clocked a time of 16:05.07. For the men, freshman Chris Yeager won his first Big 12 title as he finished in 14:48.01.

Joseph Schooling took another Big 12 title when he finished the 200 butterfly in 1:42.23. Lauren Case won the women’s event in 1:55.18.

Kennedy Lohman swept the breast stroke events, winning the 200 in 2:09.71.

The men finished the meet with a win in the 400 freestyle relay. Townley Haas, Brett Ringgold, Jeff Newkirk and Jackson teamed up for the win.

The women completed the 21-event sweep with a victory in the 400 freestyle relay in 3:11.72. Anelise Diener, Adams, Brooke Hansen and Rebecca Millard finished off the relay for the Horns.

Eddie Reese was the men’s swimming coach of the meet while Carol Capitani was the women’s swimming coach of the meet.

Jackson earned the honor of swimmer of the meet while Windle was named diver and newcomer of the meet for the men.

On the women’s side, Claire Adams was the swimmer of the meet with Alison Gibson taking diver of the meet honors. Evie Pfeifer earned honors as the newcomer of the meet.

UT diving coach Matt Scoggin was named the diving coach of the meet for the women.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at