UT's Townley Haas, shown here competing at the Phillips 66 National Championships in June of 2017, helped Team USA to the 4x200 freestyle relay gold at the Rio Olympics in 2016. (Tom Pennington/Getty Images)

BEVO BEAT Swimming & Diving

Texas swimming teams take five overall wins at the Texas Hall of Fame Invitational

Posted December 1st, 2018


The Texas swimming and diving teams added five more wins at the Texas Hall of Fame Swimming Invitational at Jamail Texas Swimming Center Friday night.

Evie Pfeifer, Joanna Evans and Kennedy Lohman were victorious for the women’s top-ranked squad.

Tate Jackson and Townley Haas each won their races for the men’s team.


Pfeifer finished the 400-yard individual medley in 4 minutes, 9.11 seconds for a personal best. Evans won the 200 freestyle in 1:43.94 for her second victory of the event. Lohman took the 100 breaststroke in 59.86.

Claire Adams had a good showing as well, taking second place with the second best time in the NCAA this season in the 100 backstroke. She finished in 50.95.

Haas won the 200 freestyle in 1:33.24 while Jackson took the 100 fly in a personal best 45.78.

The invitational concludes Saturday.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.