Texas diver Jordan Windle performs a dive during the Big 12 swimming and diving championships on Friday, March 1, 2019, in Austin, Texas. [NICK WAGNER/AMERICAN-STATESMAN]

BEVO BEAT Swimming & Diving

Texas men’s swimming and diving team wins 40th straight conference title

Posted March 3rd, 2019


The Texas men’s swimming and diving team now has as many consecutive conference championships as UT has acres. The Longhorns made it 40 straight conference titles, winning the Big 12 Championship at the Jamail Texas Swimming Center on Saturday.

The No. 2 women also won the Big 12 Championship, making it seven straight titles for the Longhorns. A new Big 12 record for Joanna Evans and repeat championships for Quinn Carrozza, Claire Adams and Murphy Bromberg highlighted the action.

The men scored 1,028 points to top the field. West Virginia was second with 849.5 points. The Texas women won with 1,073.5 points. Kansas came in second with 754.5 points.


Ryan Harty had another record-setting performance, taking the 200-yard backstroke in a time of 1 minute, 38.61 seconds to set a Big 12 record. Harty also broke the Big 12 record in the 100 backstroke Friday.

The four-time defending NCAA champions also picked up wins from Danny Kruger, Alex Zettle, Braden Vines and Jordan Windle.

Zettle took the 1,650 freestyle in 14:48.32.

Vines won the 200 breaststroke title in 1:54.23. He adds it to his 400 individual medley title from Friday.

Kruger won the 100 freestyle in 42.33. He joins Vines as the only freshmen to win two individual event titles.

Windle took the platform diving championship with 521.60 points. He finished second in the 3-meter event Friday.

Evans set a new meet record in the 1,650 freestyle with a time of 15:57.28. She adds that to her 500 freestyle title from earlier in the week.

Carrozza took her second straight title in the 200 backstroke, finishing in 1:52.88.

Adams won the 100 freestyle for the second year in a row with a time of 47.82.

Remedy Rule won the 200 fly in 1:53.81. She last won the conference title in 2016.

Bromberg scored 397.20 points to take her second straight platform title, her fourth overall.

Both the men and women closed out the competition with a win in the 400 freestyle relay. The men posted a time of 2:52.08 while the women clocked in at 3:13.58.

Meet Awards

Men’s Swimmer of the Meet: Townley Haas, Texas

Women’s Swimmer of the Meet: Joanna Evans, Texas

Men’s Diver of the Meet: Grayson Campbell, Texas

Women’s Diver of the Meet: Alison Gibson, Texas

Men’s Newcomer of the Meet: Braden Vines, Texas

Women’s Newcomer of the Meet: Grace Ariola, Texas

Men’s Swimming Coach of the Meet: Eddie Reese, Texas

Women’s Swimming Coach of the Meet: Clark Campbell, Kansas

Men’s Diving Coach of the Meet: Matt Scoggin, Texas

Women’s Diving Coach of the Meet: Matt Scoggin, Texas

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.