The preseason ‘watch lists’ are upon us

Posted July 8th, 2013


An annual rite of summer is the release of college football’s preseason ‘watch lists’ for post-season awards. Don’t put much stock in them — they basically are conversation generators for the upcoming season — but the Longhorns are represented on the initial lists to be released.

For the second straight year, defensive back Quandre Diggs is on the watch list for the Paul Hornung Award presented to college football’s most versatile player. Quarterback David Ash is among the 76 players on the watch list for the Maxwell Award that goes to the national player of the year. And defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat, for the second straight year, is on the preseason list for the Bednarik Award as the nation’s best defensive player.

Watch lists for numerous other preseason awards will be released in the coming days. They include: Tuesday — Mackey Award and Rimington Trophy; Wednesday — Lou Groza Award and Ray Guy Trophy; Thursday — Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Outland Trophy; Friday — Jim Thorpe Award; July 16 — Butkus Award and Rotary Lombardi Award; July 17 — Biletnikoff Award; July 18 — Davey O’Brien Award; July 19 — Doak Walker Award; and July 20 — Walter Camp Award.


News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at