Jeffcoat, Walters named to Lombardi Award watch list

Posted July 15th, 2013


For the second straight year, Longhorns Jackson Jeffcoat and Mason Walters have been named to the preseason watch list for the Lombardi Award, which goes to the nation’s top collegiate lineman or linebacker.

Jeffcoat, a senior-to-be defensive end, has posted at least one sack in 10 of his last 13 games, and has 12 overall during the span. He missed the final seven games of the 2012 season after tearing his right pectoral muscle against Oklahoma.

Jeffcoat also is on the 2013 watch lists for the Bednarik, Nagurski and Lott trophies, as well as the CFPA defensive awards.


Walters, also a senior-to-be, has started 38 straight games at right guard. He’s also on the Outland Trophy watch list.

Texas has had three Lombardi Award winners — Brian Orakpo in 2008, Tony DeGrate in 1984 and Kenneth Sims in 1981.

Also on Monday, the watch list was released for the Butkus Award as the nation’s top linebacker. The only Big 12 players on the list were Baylor’s Bryce Hager, a Westlake High product, and Iowa State’s Jeremiah George.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at