UT forward Enemkpali named to All-Big 12 first team

Posted March 6th, 2014


Texas forward Nneka Enemkpali was named to the All-Big 12 first team on Thursday.

The 6-1 junior finished second in the conference in rebounding (8.8 per game), fifth in field goal percentage (.527) and 13th in scoring (12.5 points per game).

Texas post Imani McGee-Stafford was voted to the Big 12 second team. She ranked third in the conference in blocked shots (2.1 per game), ninth in field goal percentage (.491) and 22nd in scoring (10.5 points per game).


Texas senior Chassidy Fussell was named to the honorable mention list.

Baylor senior guard Odyssey Sims garnered both Big 12 Player and Defensive Player of the Year while her teammate forward Nina Davis was named Big 12 Freshman of the Year. The honors were voted on by the league’s head coaches who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Mike Carey earned his first Big 12 Coach of the Year award in West Virginia’s second season as a conference member. WVU senior guard Taylor Palmer was selected for the Sixth Man Award.

Joining Enemkpali, Sims and Davis on the All-Big 12 first team are Iowa State forward Hallie Christofferson, Kansas forward Chelsea Gardner, Oklahoma guard Aaryn Ellenburg, Oklahoma State guard Tiffany Bias, TCU guard Zahna Medley, West Virginia center Asya Bussie and West Virginia guard Bria Holmes.

The Big 12 Tournament begins Friday in Oklahoma City with two play-in games. TCU vs. Texas Tech and Kansas vs. Kansas State.

Texas will play Oklahoma in a quarterfinal game at 8:30 p.m. Saturday.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at