Beau Hossler, seen here at the University of Texas Golf Club. RODOLFO GONZALEZ / AUSTIN AMERICAN-STATESMAN


Texas junior Beau Hossler wins Fred Haskins Award

Texas junior named nation's top collegiate golfer after winning five events in 2016

Posted June 7th, 2016


Beau Hossler’s immediate future may be in limbo, but his collegiate accomplishments are now part of Texas golf lore.

On Tuesday, Hossler was named the Fred Haskins Award winner, the honor given to the nation’s top collegiate golfer as voted on by peers, coaches and media. He joins Ben Crenshaw, Bob Estes, Justin Leonard and Brad Elder as the fifth golfer in Texas history to win the honor.

“I really can’t put into words the work and effort I have put in, but this really would not have been possible without everyone on my team, whether in Texas or California,” Hossler said. “It’s a huge honor to represent them.


“In truth, it’s not an award you really strive for, because it’s so high up there,” he added. “It’s pretty much like the Heisman Trophy of college golf. If you strive for that at the beginning of the year, then you get ahead of yourself and start looking too much into the results.”

Hossler won five events this year, the third-highest total in school history. Crenshaw won seven tournaments in 1973 and six in ’72. Hossler also posted two runner-up finishes and four additional top-10s.

“It’s so exciting to be able to coach someone like Beau,” Texas coach John Fields said. “He also puts the work in. There is no possible way that he could have achieved this type of success without an incredible work ethic. I see that every day, whether it’s in school or golf. He has brought that level of intensity to our team and has benefited his teammates.”

Hossler’s only setback came last week at the NCAA championship in Eugene, Ore. He suffered a left shoulder injury in the match play semifinals that prevented him from competing in the championship match.

Hossler was expected to announce that he was turning pro, however the injury may cause him to evaluate his decision.

“I will be exploring opportunities in the coming weeks, and will gather the info necessary to make a decision,” Hossler told the American-Statesman on Tuesday. “Nothing yet.”

Contact Brian Davis at 512-445-3957. Email

Previous Texas winners of Fred Haskins Award

2016: Beau Hossler

1997: Brad Elder

1994: Justin Leonard

1987: Bob Estes

1973: Ben Crenshaw

1972: Ben Crenshaw

1971: Ben Crenshaw

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at