ARLINGTON, TX - OCTOBER 09: Fans enter the stadium prior to the game between the Dallas Cowboys and Cincinnati Bengals at AT&T Stadium on October 9, 2016 in Arlington, Texas. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)


Arlington will host next 5 Big 12 football title games

San Antonio, Kansas City also were in the running

Posted November 18th, 2016


When the Big 12 Conference football championship game returns next year, it will be anchored in AT&T Stadium in Arlington.

AT&T Stadium, home of the Dallas Cowboys, will host the game for five consecutive years from 2017-21.

The Big 12 voted to bring back the title game after a six-year absence. The last two Big 12 championship games were played at AT&T Stadium and decided by a total of four points — and Texas was a part of one of them.


Hunter Lawrence kicked a last-second field goal to give the second-ranked Longhorns a 13-12 win over No. 22 Nebraska in 2009.

However, the game ended in controversy because it was highly questionable with the clock ran out or not on a Colt McCoy throwaway pass. Texas was allowed to kick the field goal and went on to the national championship game, where it lost to Alabama.

The following season, No. 9 Oklahoma upended No. 13 Nebraska 23-20 behind two second-half field goals.

Now after a hiatus, the game returns but won’t move around any time soon.

The Alamodome in San Antonio and Arrowhead Stadium in Kansas City were competing with Arlington, but it appears AT&T Stadium made a bid that blew the others away. Financial terms of the deal were not disclosed.

“The building is a state of the art facility and offers many amenities that will be enjoyed by our institutions and fans,” Big 12 commissioner Bob Bowlsby said in a statement.

FOX and ESPN will alternate the telecasts of the game, which will be on the first weekend in December. FOX will carry the game in 2017 and odd-numbered years through 2023, while ESPN will handle the telecasts in even-numbered years through the 2024 game. Sites for 2022-24 have not been determined.

AT&T Stadium opened in 2009 with a seating capacity of 80,000 that can be maximized to over 100,000 with standing room. Among its many features are a retractable roof, one of the world’s largest high definition video screens and a collection of contemporary art.

The Big 12 title games have been competitive and sometimes surprising. The previous 15 games featured five contests in which the higher-ranked team was upset and five that were decided by a touchdown-or-less.


2010     AT&T Stadium (previously Cowboys Stadium) – Arlington, Texas

2009     AT&T Stadium (previously Cowboys Stadium) – Arlington, Texas

2008     Arrowhead Stadium – Kansas City, Mo.

2007      Alamodome – San Antonio, Texas

2006     Arrowhead Stadium – Kansas City, Mo.

2005      Reliant Stadium – Houston, Texas

2004      Arrowhead Stadium – Kansas City, Mo.

2003      Arrowhead Stadium – Kansas City, Mo.

2002      Reliant Stadium – Houston, Texas

2001       Texas Stadium – Irving, Texas

2000     Arrowhead Stadium – Kansas City, Mo.

1999      Alamodome – San Antonio, Texas

1998      TWA Dome – St. Louis, Mo.

1997       Alamodome – San Antonio, Texas

1996      TWA Dome – St. Louis, Mo.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at