Texas's #33 D'Onta Foreman takes the ball from #7 Shane Buechele during the second half in Lawrence, Kansas on Saturday, November 19, 2016. DEBORAH CANNON / AMERICAN-STATESMAN

BEVO BEAT Football

D’Onta Foreman passes Cedric Benson on single-season rushing list

Posted November 19th, 2016


D’Onta Foreman continued to rewrite the Texas record book on Saturday.

After breaking Earl Campbell’s record for consecutive 100-yard rushing games, the Longhorns junior running back passed Cedric Benson to move into third all-time on the school’s single-season rushing list. Benson ran for 1,834 yards in 2004.

Ricky Williams is now the only Texas running back to run for more yards than Foreman in a single season, doing so twice in 1997 and 1998.


Foreman began the day sixth on the list. He ran the ball 51 times for 250 yards and two touchdowns, but also had a pair of costly fumbles.

In addition to Benson, he also passed Jamaal Charles (2007) and Campbell (1977).

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.