D'Onta Foreman runs ahead of the pack during the second half of a NCAA college football game against California on Saturday, September 17, 2016 at Memorial Stadium in Berkeley, California. RICARDO B. BRAZZIELL/AMERICAN-STATESMAN

BEVO BEAT Football

D’Onta Foreman in the running as Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award to be given Wednesday

Posted January 10th, 2017


D’Onta Foreman could become the first Texas player, and first non-quarterback, to win the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award on Wednesday.

Foreman was named a finalist in December for the award, which is given to the best offensive player in Division I football who attended a Texas high school or junior college, along with Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield, Alabama’s Jalen Hurts, Texas Tech’s Pat Mahomes and Oklahoma receiver Dede Westbrook.

The award’s namesake, 1977 Heisman Trophy winner and Longhorn great, Earl Campbell was a standout from Tyler, Texas and the banquet where the award will be given is in Tyler.


The honor “is given annually to the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits enduring characteristics that define Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity, ” according to The University of Texas athletics website.

Foreman declared for the NFL last month after rushing for 2,028 yards as a junior and breaking Campbell’s 100-yard rushing game streak with 13 straight games over the century mark.

The award was first given in 2013 and went to Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty. Trevone Boykin of TCU won the honor in 2014 and Greg Ward of Houston won it last season. Ward’s coach was Tom Herman, who was hired by Texas in late November.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.