Texas freshman Jarrett Allen (31) takes the court during a Big 12 basketball game at the Frank Erwin Center Saturday, Feb. 25, 2017. (Stephen Spillman / for AMERICAN-STATESMAN)

BEVO BEAT Men's Basketball

Jarrett Allen selected to All-Big 12 third team as Kansas dominates conference accolades

Posted March 5th, 2017


Big 12 champion Kansas dominated the conference’s postseason awards announced Sunday, with Bill Self being named coach of the year, Frank Mason III player of the year and Josh Jackson freshman of the year.

Texas freshman Jarrett Allen made the All-Big 12 third team and the all-newcomer team. No other Longhorns were honored.

West Virginia’s Jevon Carter was defensive player of the year, and teammate Tarik Phillip won the sixth man award. Manu Lecomte of Baylor was newcomer of the year.


The Phillips 66 All-Big 12 awards are selected by the head coaches, who may not vote for their own players.

On the All-Big 12 first team were Mason, Jackson, Johnathan Motley (Baylor), Monte Morris (Iowa State) and Jawun Evans (Oklahoma State).

Second-teamers were Carter, Nazareth Mitrou-Long (Iowa State), Devonte Graham (Kansas), Jeffrey Carroll (Oklahoma State) and Vladimir Brodziansky (TCU).

On the third team with Allen were Lecomte, Deonte Burton (Iowa State), Wesley Iwundu (Kansas State), Keenan Evans (Texas Tech) and Nathan Adrian (West Virginia).

Receiving honorable mention were Ishmail Wainright (Baylor), Matt Thomas (Iowa State), Landen Lucas (Kansas), D.J. Johnson (Kansas State), Kameron McGusty (Oklahoma), Phil Forte (Oklahoma State), Jaylen Fisher (TCU), Kenrich Williams (TCU) and Zach Smith (Texas Tech).

Texas (10-21, 4-14) will begin play in the Big 12 Tournament at 8:30 p.m. Wednesday against No. 7 seed Texas Tech (18-13, 6-12) in Kansas City, Mo.


News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.