WACO, TX - NOVEMBER 19: Jesse Ertz #16 of the Kansas State Wildcats is sacked by K.J. Smith #56 of the Baylor Bears at McLane Stadium on November 19, 2016 in Waco, Texas. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)

BEVO BEAT Football

Top opponents for Texas in 2017, No. 53: Baylor DE K.J. Smith

Posted July 11th, 2017


The countdown to kickoff is on. Over the 100 days before Texas takes on Maryland, we’re counting down the 100 best players the Longhorns will face in 2017. This series is all about impressing your friends at pregame tailgates and watch parties, so grab a notepad and buckle up.

Who is he?

So much about Baylor football is in flux, but K.J. Smith continues to be a steady presence. The Bears’ lone first-team All-Big 12 selection in 2016 enters his senior season as the leader of a deep defensive line. The Frisco native led Baylor and was among conference leaders in tackles for loss (11.0) and sacks (7.0).


What should the Longhorns watch for?

Primarily a pass-rushing end, Smith has been known to slide inside at times. That won’t be the case this season, at least according to what new Bears coach Matt Rhule told media this spring. Rhule said he wants to give Smith the best opportunity to play in the NFL, and that means getting as many reps as possible outside.

Previous encounters

The Longhorns limited Smith to only four tackles (none for loss) last year in Austin. He didn’t record a stop in 2015, and had three tackles including one for loss as a freshman playing at Royal-Memorial Stadium.

Catch up on the series

No. 100: Joel Lanning

No. 99: Tony Nicholson

No. 98: Da’Leon Ward

No. 97: Taylor Martin

No. 96: Kyler Murray

No. 95: Davion Hall

No. 94: Mike Warren

No. 93: Al-Rasheed Benton

No. 92: Carter Stanley

No. 91: Chris Bradley

No. 90: Justin Holmes

No. 89: Alex Barnes

No. 88: Daniel Wise

No. 87: Jesse Aniebonam

No. 86: Cole Walterscheid

No. 85: Shane Cockerille

No. 84: Martell Pettaway

No. 83: David Long

No. 82: Niko Small

No. 81: Cameron Batson

No. 80: Mike Lee

No. 79: Marcelias Sutton

No. 78: Carlos Strickland

No. 77: Anu Solomon

No. 76: Deshaunte Jones

No. 75: Byron Pringle

No. 74: LaQuvionte Gonzalez

No. 73: Zach Sinor

No. 72: Derrick Willies

No. 71: David Montgomery

No. 70: Dylan Cantrell

No. 69: Matt Boermeester

No. 68: Nick Orr

No. 67: Zach Smith

No. 66: Chad Whitener

No. 65: D.J. Moore

No. 64: Jermaine Carter Jr.

No. 63: Ty Summers

No. 62: Jacob Park

No. 61: Daylon Charlot

No. 60: Brendan Moore

No. 59: Brian Peavy

No. 58: Chris Hawkins

No. 57: Ty Johnson

No. 56: Dravon Askew-Henry

No. 55: Michael Pittman Jr.

No. 54: Hakeem Adeniji

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.