Texas #46 Malik Jefferson and #32 Malcolm Roach try to stop TCU #21 Kyle Hicks in the first half of their game against TCU at Royal-Memorial Stadium in Austin, Texas on Friday, November 25, 2016. James Gregg/AMERICAN-STATESMAN James Gregg/AMERICAN-STATESMAN

BEVO BEAT Football

Malik Jefferson, Malcolm Roach named to Nagurski Trophy watch list

Posted July 13th, 2017


Texas linebackers Malik Jefferson and Malcolm Roach were named on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list released by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and Football Writers Association of America on Thursday.

The award is presented annually to college football’s top defensive player. Alabama defensive end Jonathan Allen won it in 2016.

RELATED: Malik Jefferson on Bednarik Award watch list


Jefferson was also named to the watch list last season, while Roach makes his first appearance after a breakout freshman season. Jefferson, a junior, was the Longhorns’ third-leading tackler in 2016 with 62 total stops, 8.5 tackles for loss and 5.5 sacks. He was a semifinalist for the Butkus Award, given to college football’s top linebacker.

Roach was an honorable mention for the Big 12’s defensive freshman of the year award after making 33 total tackles, 8.0 tackles for loss and 3.0 sacks.

RELATED: Five Longhorns placed on Big 12’s preseason football team

Should Jefferson or Roach win the award, they would become the third Longhorn to do so following Derrick Johnson (2004) and Brian Orakpo (2008).

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of Hookem.com is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to Statesman.com and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at statesman.com/subscribe.