The Kansas City Chiefs celebrate after they beat San Francisco in Super Bowl LIV on Feb. 2, 2020 in Miami Gardens, Fla. (AP Photo/Morry Gash)

BEVO BEAT Football

Kansas City’s triumph in the Super Bowl makes a winner of ex-Longhorn Alex Okafor

Posted February 2nd, 2020


Once again, the NFL season has ended with a Longhorn in the winner’s circle.

Kansas City rallied to a 31-20 win over San Francisco in Super Bowl LIV on Sunday night. Like the previous three Super Bowl winners, Kansas City had a former Texas football player on its roster.

Alex Okafor, a Pflugerville native who played at Texas from 2009-12, was inactive for the season’s biggest game. Okafor registered 15 tackles and five sacks in his seventh NFL season but he suffered a season-ending pectoral injury against Denver in mid-December. Still, Okafor joins a club of 27 former Longhorns who have won 32 Super Bowls:

  • DL John Elliot (Super Bowl III)
  • DB Jim Hudson (Super Bowl III)
  • TE Pete Lammons (Super Bowl III)
  • WR George Sauer (Super Bowl III)
  • DB Ricky Churchman (Super Bowl XVI)
  • DL Bill Heathcock (Super Bowl XX)
  • DL Steve McMichael (Super Bowl XX)
  • K Raul Allegre (Super Bowl XXI)
  • TE Terry Orr (Super Bowl XXII; Super Bowl XXVI)
  • OL Terry Tausch (Super XXIV)
  • OL Dan Neil (Super Bowl XXII; Super Bowl XXIII)
  • DB Taje Allen (Super Bowl XXXIV)
  • TE Derek Lewis (Super Bowl XXXIV)
  • RB Priest Holmes (Super Bowl XXXV)
  • DL Casey Hampton (Super Bowl XL; Super Bowl XLIII)
  • DB Aaron Ross (Super Bowl XLII; Super Bowl XLVI)
  • OL Tony Hills (Super Bowl XLIII)
  • WR Limas Sweed (Super Bowl XLIII)
  • TE David Thomas (Super Bowl XLIV)
  • TE Jermichael Finley (Super Bowl XLV)
  • K Justin Tucker (Super Bowl XLVII)
  • DB Chykie Brown (Super Bowl XLVII)
  • DB Earl Thomas (Super Bowl XLVIII)
  • DL Malcom Brown (Super Bowl LI; Super Bowl LIII)
  • LB Jordan Hicks (Super Bowl LII)
  • WR Marcus Johnson (Super Bowl LII)
  • DL Alex Okafor (Super Bowl LIV)

Texas would have claimed a Super Bowl champion regardless of the outcome in Miami. Former UT receiver Marquise Goodwin, who was also injured, is a 49er. San Francisco coach Kyle Shanahan was also looking to join Tom Landry as the only ex-Texas players to coach a Super Bowl winner.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at