Five to be enshrined in Texas women’s Hall of Honor

Posted September 18th, 2014


Five former Texas athletes make up the 15th Longhorn women’s Hall of Honor class, which was announced Thursday.

Comprising the class are Karol Davidson, a two-time NCAA champion and eight-time All-American in track; Katy Jameyson Garza, a two-time first-team All-American and two-time Southwest Conference Player of the Year in volleyball; Colleen Lanné Cox, a four-time NCAA champion, 22-time All-American and Olympic silver medalist in swimming; Debbie Petrizzi, the 1978 AIAW individual national champion in golf; and Yulonda Wimbish-North, the 1988 Southwest Conference Player of the Year in basketball who helped Texas to the 1985-86 NCAA Championship.

Induction ceremonies are scheduled for Nov. 7 at the Erwin Center. Tickets to the luncheon are $35 and available through the T-Association at 512-471-6864. Tables of 10 go for $450.


News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at