Malcom Brown named first-team All-Big 12 but not lineman of the year

Posted December 10th, 2014


Considered among the finest defensive players nationally, Texas’ Malcom Brown was not shown the same love by his conference brethren.

Brown, a junior defensive tackle, was named first-team All-Big 12 by the league’s coaches on Wednesday but was passed over for two defensive awards in favor of TCU’s Paul Dawson (player of the year) and Oklahoma State’s Emmanuel Ogbah (lineman of the year).

Brown ranks seventh in the Big 12 in both tackles for loss (12.5) and sacks (6.5). Ogbah is second with 11 sacks and third with 17 tackles for loss. Dawson leads the league in both tackles (128) and tackles for loss (18.5).


TCU’s Gary Patterson was named coach of the year.

Winning player of the year awards were TCU’s Trevone Boykin (offensive), Oklahoma State’s Tyreek Hill (offensive newcomer), West Virginia’s Shaq Riddick (defensive newcomer), Oklahoma’s Samaje Perine (offensive freshman), Iowa State’s Kamari Cotton-Moya (defensive freshman), and Kansas State’s Tyler Lockett (special teams). Baylor’s Spencer Drango and Kansas State’s B.J. Finney were named co-offensive linemen of the year.

The awards were voted on by the conference’s coaches.

This week, Texas’ Brown was one of three finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, given annually to the nation’s top defensive player. Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright won.

Brown is also a finalist for the Outland Trophy, given annually to the nation’s top interior lineman. On Thursday, the winner will be announced among five finalists.

rbb texas vs iowa 03

Earning All-Big 12 second-team status for the Longhorns were senior running back Malcolm Brown, defensive end Cedric Reed, linebacker Jordan Hicks, and cornerback Quandre Diggs.

Texas has not had an offensive player named to the first team since Colt McCoy in 2009.

Honorable mention went to cornerback Duke Thomas, linebacker Steve Edmond, wide receivers John Harris and Jaxon Shipley, and safety Dylan Haines.

On Monday, the media that covers the league named Malcom Brown first-team, and placed Reed, Hicks, and Harris on second team.

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at