Dont'a Hightower #54 of the New England Patriots celebrates with Malcom Brown #90 after forcing a fumble from Matt Ryan #2 of the Atlanta Falcons during the fourth quarter during Super Bowl 51 at NRG Stadium on February 5, 2017 in Houston, Texas. (Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images)

BEVO BEAT Football

Malcom Brown gives Texas its 24th Super Bowl champion

Posted February 6th, 2017


Two years after he left Texas, Malcom Brown is a champion.

Brown was able to celebrate after New England rallied past Atlanta in the Super Bowl on Sunday. Brown is a 6-foot-2-inch, 320-pound defensive tackle on New England’s roster. In a 34-28 overtime win, Brown’s defense held Atlanta to seven points after halftime.

Before he was a Patriot, Brown played at Texas from 2012-14.


A first-round draft pick by the Patriots in 2015, Brown recorded 61 tackles and four sacks in his second season. Eleven of those tackles were recorded over New England’s three playoff games.

Brown gave his Alma mater a representative in the Super Bowl for a 12th straight season. According to Texas, he also became the 24th Longhorn to win a ring.

Here is a list of the Longhorns’ Super Bowl champions. Terry Orr, Dan Neil, Casey Hampton and Aaron Ross are the only Texas Exes to win two titles:

  • DL John Elliot (Super Bowl III)
  • DB Jim Hudson (Super Bowl III)
  • TE Pete Lammons (Super Bowl III)
  • WR George Sauer (Super Bowl III)
  • DB Ricky Churchman (Super Bowl XVI)
  • DL Bill Heathcock (Super Bowl XX)
  • DL Steve McMichael (Super Bowl XX)
  • K Raul Allegre (Super Bowl XXI)
  • TE Terry Orr (Super Bowl XXII; Super Bowl XXVI)
  • OL Terry Tausch (Super XXIV)
  • OL Dan Neil (Super Bowl XXII; Super Bowl XXIII)
  • DB Taje Allen (Super Bowl XXXIV)
  • TE Derek Lewis (Super Bowl XXXIV)
  • RB Priest Holmes (Super Bowl XXXV)
  • DL Casey Hampton (Super Bowl XL; Super Bowl XLIII)
  • DB Aaron Ross (Super Bowl XLII; Super Bowl XLVI)
  • OL Tony Hills (Super Bowl XLIII)
  • WR Limas Sweed (Super Bowl XLIII)
  • TE David Thomas (Super Bowl XLIV)
  • TE Jermichael Finley (Super Bowl XLV)
  • K Justin Tucker (Super Bowl XLVII)
  • DB Chykie Brown (Super Bowl XLVII)
  • DB Earl Thomas (Super Bowl XLVIII)
  • DL Malcom Brown (Super Bowl LI)

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at