Vince Young celebrates after the National Championship game at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., on Jan. 4, 2006. Deborah Cannon/AMERICAN-STATESMAN

BEVO BEAT Football

Call to the Hall: Legendary Longhorn Vince Young to be inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

Posted January 7th, 2019


Already responsible for one of the greatest plays in college football’s history, former Texas quarterback Vince Young will now be honored among the sport’s greatest players.

Young will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation announced on Monday. Young will join inductees like Notre Dame receiver Raghib Ismail and Wisconsin offensive lineman Joe Thomas in the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019. Additionally, Oklahoma defensive back Rickey Dixon and Texas A&M defensive lineman Jacob Green are featured in the 13-player class.

Young is the 23rd Longhorn to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. The school’s first inductee was Dana X. Bible, who coached at UT from 1937-46 before joining the Hall of Fame’s inaugural Class of 1951. In 1968, ex-UT quarterback Bobby Layne became the first of 20 Texas players to earn the honor. Last year, former Texas coach Mack Brown was enshrined.

Texas quarterback Vince Young outruns Michigan’s Ernest Shazor during the fourth quarter at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., on Jan. 1, 2005. Deborah Cannon/American-Statesman

In a statement released by Texas, Young said that “When I think about it, the honor is meaningful in so many ways and this award is full of reminders. It’s a reminder that I came from a broken home and an under-resourced community where the odds are against us all. It’s a reminder that I was given the chance to play for The University of Texas through the support of my family, hard work and dedication. It’s a reminder of the work my teammates and I put in, especially when no one was watching. It’s a reminder of all the adversity we have gone through and overcome. And last, but not least, it’s a reminder of all the awards, challenges and championships my brothers and mentors have won together. None of us have accomplished anything alone, and I’m thankful for everyone in my life. This honor means the world to me and my family, and as I think about it, two powerful words say it all: life changing.”

From 2003-05, Young compiled a 30-2 record as a starter and was the runner-up for the 2005 Heisman Trophy. He became the third quarterback in NCAA history to pass for 6,000 yards and rush for 3,000 yards in a career. Young’s 6,040 passing yards and 3,127 rushing yards both rank sixth in the UT record books, and no Longhorn quarterback is within 1,000 yards of that rushing total.

Young’s No. 10 jersey was retired by Texas in 2008. Of the players who wore UT’s six retired jerseys, only Colt McCoy is not in the College Football Hall of Fame. McCoy is not yet eligible for induction since he is still playing professionally and 10 seasons have not passed since his last game at Texas.

Young’s 30th victory at Texas was one of the school’s most-significant conquests. In the 2006 Rose Bowl, Young led Texas to a national championship with 267 passing yards, 200 rushing yards and three total touchdowns. His eight-yard touchdown run with 19 seconds left was the decisive score in UT’s 41-38 win over USC.

Following the 2005 season, Young was selected by Tennessee with the third pick in the NFL Draft. He played six seasons in the NFL and was the league’s Offensive Rookie of the Year in 2006.

Longhorns in the College Football Hall of Fame

 PositionYears at TexasYear inducted
Hub BechtolEND1944-461991
Dana BibleCoach1937-461951
Mack BrownCoach1998-20132018
Earl CampbellRB1974-771990
Doug EnglishDL1972-742011
Chris GilbertRB1966-681999
Jerry GrayDB1981-842013
Johnnie JohnsonDB1976-792007
Malcolm KutnerEND1939-411974
Bobby LayneQB1944-471968
Roosevelt LeaksRB1972-742005
Bud McFadinOL/DL1948-501983
Steve McMichaelDL1976-792009
Tommy NobisLB/OL1963-651981
Darrell RoyalCoach1957-761983
James SaxtonRB1959-611996
Harley SewellOL/DL1950-522000
Jerry SisemoreOL1959-612002
Bud SpragueOL1923-241970
Harrison StaffordRB1930-321975
Ricky WilliamsRB1995-982015
Vince YoungQB2003-052019

News on Bevo Beat is free and unlimited. Access to the rest of is included with an Austin American-Statesman subscription in addition to and the ePaper edition. Subscribe today at